- Window Tint Color in New Mexico
- New Mexico Tint Percentages
- New Mexico Tint Reflection
- New Mexico Tint Visibility
- New Mexico Tint Exemption
- New Mexico Tint Exemption Form
- New Mexico Tint Laws for Trucks
- Albuquerque Tint Laws
- Frequently Asked Questions
- What percent of tint is legal in NM?
- Can you have tinted windows in New Mexico?
- What is the darkest legal window tint?
- What is the maximum tint in New Mexico?
- Can front car windows be tinted?
- What is the darkest legal tint in Texas?
- What is Arizona law on window tint?
- Are tinted car windows Legal?
- Is New Mexico an American state?
- Why you shouldn’t tint your windows?
- Can you see through 15 window tint?
New Mexico has a very strict window tinting law. It is illegal to have a window that is less than 35% of the car’s windshield, and no more than 70% of the car’s windshield. The purpose of this law is to reduce glare from the sun on other drivers. However, many people are unaware of these laws and end up getting pulled over by police for having too dark windows.
New Mexico has many window tint laws that are different from the rest of the United States. In 2022, there will be a new law that will change the way window tint is regulated in New Mexico.
This Video Should Help:
When you’re looking for a way to improve your home’s interior design, window tinting is an excellent option. In some states, such as Colorado and New Mexico, window tinting is legal without the need for a permit. However, not all states have the same window tint laws. In this article, we will explore the different window tinting laws in New Mexico and how they impact residents and businesses.
Window Tint Color in New Mexico
The Land of Enchantment has some pretty strict window tinting laws. In New Mexico, it is illegal to have a windshield or front side windows that are any darker than 50 percent VLT. That means that if you want to get your car’s windows tinted in New Mexico, you’ll need to choose a light film.
For the rear and back side windows, the maximum allowable VLT is 35 percent. That means that you can go with a slightly darker film for these windows, but not too dark. The darkest legal tint in New Mexico is still quite light when compared to other states’ laws.
There are a few exceptions to these general rules. First, medical exemptions can be made for those who need darker tints for health reasons. Second, certain vehicles are exempt from the front window tinting law, including convertibles and cars with rearview mirrors that are mounted on the outside of the car (as opposed to inside).
If you’re thinking of getting your car’s windows tinted in New Mexico, make sure to choose a light film so you don’t run afoul of the state’s laws.
New Mexico Tint Percentages
The amount of light that is allowed to pass through your car windows is regulated by the state of New Mexico. The percentages below represent the amount of light that is allowed to pass through the front windshield, driver and passenger side windows, and rear window.
Windshield: Must allow more than 70% of light
Driver and Passenger Side Windows: Must allow more than 50% of light
Rear Window: Must allow more than 50% of light if there are mirrors on both sides
Colorado Window Tint Law: The amount of tint you can have on your car windows in Colorado depends on the type of vehicle you drive. Passenger vehicles can have up to 27% tint on all windows except the windshield. The windshield can have up to 24″ strip at the top that allows no less than 70% visibility. For SUVs, vans, and trucks, the same rules apply except they’re allowed up to 8″ strip at the top of their windshields.
New Mexico Tint Reflection
As all of us know, the sun can be pretty brutal here in New Mexico. Not only is it hot, but the UV rays can be damaging to our skin and eyes. That’s why a lot of people choose to tint their car windows – it helps reduce the glare and makes it more comfortable to drive.
However, there are some restrictions on window tinting in New Mexico. The state law prohibits any film that has a light transmission level below 27%. This means that your front windshield can’t be tinted at all, and your front side windows can only have a very light tint. The back windows can be darker, but not by much.
There are also some exceptions to the law. If you have a medical condition that requires you to limit your exposure to sunlight, then you can get a waiver from the state for darker window tints. There are also some vehicles that are exempt from the law, such as buses and certain types of trucks.
If you’re thinking about getting your car windows tinted, make sure you understand the laws before you do anything. It’s always better to be safe than sorry!
New Mexico Tint Visibility
The New Mexico tint law is pretty simple- all vehicles must have a minimum of 35% Visible Light Transmission (VLT). This means that no more than 65% of the light can be blocked by your window film. Some exceptions to this rule are if you have medical conditions that require darker tint or if your vehicle is equipped with certain types of aftermarket lighting.
If you’re caught driving with illegal tint, you may be subject to a fine and/or have your tint removed. So it’s important to make sure that your tint falls within the state guidelines.
Here are some general guidelines for window tint in New Mexico:
-Front windshield: No restrictions
-Front side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in
-Back side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in
-Rear windshield: Must allow more than 35% of light in
New Mexico Tint Exemption
If you live in New Mexico, you may be eligible for a window tint exemption. This means that you can have your windows tinted without having to worry about breaking the law. There are a few things that you need to know in order to qualify for this exemption, however. First of all, you must have a medical condition that makes it necessary for you to have your windows tinted. This could be anything from a sensitivity to sunlight to a medical condition that requires you to keep your car cool. If you do not have a medical condition, then you will not be able to get the exemption.
Secondly, you must get an official letter from your doctor stating that you need to have your windows tinted for medical reasons. This letter needs to be on official letterhead and it needs to state explicitly why you need the window tints. Without this letter, you will not be able to get the exemption.
Thirdly, once you have your letter from the doctor, you need to take it down to your local DMV office and apply for the exemption. You will need to fill out some paperwork and show them the letter from the doctor in order for them to process your request. Once they approve your request, they will give you an official document that exempts you from havingto comply with the window tint laws in New Mexico.
So ifyou live in New Mexico and have a medical condition that requiresyouto have window tints, then don’t worry -you can still get them! Just make sure thatyou followthe steps outlined above andyou’ll be goodto go!
New Mexico Tint Exemption Form
If you’re driving in New Mexico, you’ll need to make sure your car’s windows are compliant with the state’s window tinting laws. Luckily, there is a way to get around these regulations if you meet certain criteria. You can apply for a window tint exemption form from the New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division.
To be eligible for the exemption, you must have a medical condition that makes it necessary to have your windows tinted. This could include conditions like lupus, severe photosensitivity, or even diabetes. You’ll need to get a letter from your doctor confirming that you have one of these conditions and that window tinting is necessary for your health and well-being.
Once you have the letter from your doctor, simply fill out the New Mexico Tint Exemption Form and submit it to the MVD. If your application is approved, you’ll be able to drive with legally tinted windows!
New Mexico Tint Laws for Trucks
In New Mexico, it is legal to have your truck’s windows tinted as long as the light transmittance is above 25%. However, there are a few other stipulations that you’ll need to follow in order to stay within the law. First, all side windows must have a combined light transmittance of at least 35%. Secondly, if your truck has aftermarket tinted windows, you’ll need to provide proof of purchase to police upon request. Lastly, keep in mind that even though it’s legal to have your truck’s windows tinted in New Mexico, certain jobs may require you to have clear windows for safety reasons.
Albuquerque Tint Laws
If you’re driving in Albuquerque, New Mexico, it’s important to be aware of the city’s laws regarding window tinting. Window tinting is a popular way to reduce glare and heat in your vehicle, but it’s important to make sure that your tinting falls within the city’s legal guidelines. Here’s what you need to know about Albuquerque’s window tint laws.
In Albuquerque, there are no specific regulations regarding window tinting. However, the city does have general rules regarding obstructions to a driver’s view. These rules state that any objects placed on or near a windshield or other windows must not obstruct the driver’s view more than 50%. This means that if your window tint is too dark or reflective, it could technically be considered an obstruction.
As long as your window tint isn’t excessively dark or reflective, you shouldn’t have any problems with the law in Albuquerque. However, it’s always a good idea to check with your local police department or DMV just to be sure.
New Mexico Tint Laws for Trucks:
Trucks are held to different standards when it comes towindow tints in New Mexico In order for a truckufffds front side windows tobew legally compliant they cannot be darker than 35%. The two rear windows can also not exceed 35% darkness either however there are some special circumstances when these numbers change such as if the truck has aftermarket glazing which would then bump up these percentages by 5%. If a truck has factory glazing then its front side windows can only go down as low as 20% while still being street legal anything darker than this and police will likely pull you over.
Colorado Window Tint Law:
Colorado law states that windshields may not have any film applied below AS-1 line except for a sunglass visor strip at the top ofthe windshield . Front seat side windows may not have any film applied below 21 inches fromthe top ofthe door glass . Back seat side windows may have film applied at any level . Rear windowscan have film applied at any level
Frequently Asked Questions
What percent of tint is legal in NM?
What Is New Mexico’s Darkest Legal Tint? The deepest tint permitted for passenger cars is 20%. The driver-side window, which has a 20 percent tint, is the deepest permitted tint for multipurpose cars. On the back and rear windows of your multipurpose cars, you may utilize any shade of dark tint.
Can you have tinted windows in New Mexico?
New Mexico’s rules for windshield tint Limited windshield tint is permitted in New Mexico, as it is in most other states. Non-reflective window tint may be applied to the windshield of cars, trucks, SUVs, and vans up to the factory AS-1 line, which is identified on the glass with tiny letters and numbers.
What is the darkest legal window tint?
Darkness of Window Tint The front windshield and front side windows must have a 70 percent VLT in order to comply with California’s window tint rules in 2022. There are no limits on how dark the tint may be on the back and side windows under California law for automobile windows.
What is the maximum tint in New Mexico?
Windshield: Non-reflective tint is permitted up to the top 5 inches or above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line. Windows on the front side must let in at least 20% of the available light. Backside windows: Use any level of darkness. Rear window: Any level of obscurity will do.
Can front car windows be tinted?
At least 70% of the outside air must enter via the front side and passenger windows. In other words, if you are pulled over and the tints are on, the police won’t ask you to take them off or write you a ticket. A variety of colors will be available to you, and each will abide by the window tinting regulations.
What is the darkest legal tint in Texas?
Texas Laws Regarding Window Darkness Windshield: With less than 25% reflection, 25 percent VLT tint is permitted above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line or the top 5 inches. Windows on the front side must let in at least 25% of the available light. Backside windows: Use any level of darkness.
What is Arizona law on window tint?
In order to tint a sedan, SUV, or van, a motorist must abide by the regulations set out in Arizona Revised Statute 28-959.01. A VLT of at least 33% must be present on the front side windows. Rear and side windows may be completely dark. The legislation mandates dual side mirrors in the event that the rear windshield is tinted.
Are tinted car windows Legal?
The government acknowledges the advantages and significance of having window tints for the safety and security of drivers and passengers, thus installing tints is not prohibited in the nation. Very dark hues, however, are seen as security and safety risks.
Is New Mexico an American state?
As the 47th state, New Mexico attained statehood on January 6, 1912. The largest employer in the state is the federal government. In order to conserve national parks and historic sites, the federal government has set aside more than one-third of New Mexico’s territory, employing workers in organizations like the National Park Service.
Why you shouldn’t tint your windows?
Although tinted windows help shield your eyes from the sun, it can also be difficult to see outside via substantially tinted windows, especially on particularly overcast or wet days.
Can you see through 15 window tint?
IS IT POSSIBLE TO SEE THROUGH A 15% TINT AT NIGHT? Yes, when inside the car at night, you can see through the 15% window tint. In order to see inside a car that has 15 tints fitted from the outside, you’ll probably need to lean up against the window, and even then, the inside will be dark.