Who Makes Laws In The Us?

The answer to who makes laws in the US might be more complicated than you think. Get the answer and learn about the different types of laws in the United States.

Checkout this video:

The Constitution and Federal Law

The Constitution of the United States is the supreme law of the land. It creates a federal system of government in which power is shared between the federal government and the state governments.

The Constitution sets out the framework of the federal government and establishes the system of laws that govern our nation. Federal laws are made by Congress, which is composed of two houses: the Senate and the House of Representatives.

Congressional laws are enacted pursuant to the Constitution’s grant of legislative power to Congress. The Constitution also gives Congress the power to make laws that are “necessary and proper” for carrying out its other enumerated powers.

In addition to Congress, there are other sources of federal law. These include executive orders and proclamations, treaties, Supreme Court decisions, and regulations promulgated by federal agencies.


In the United States, Congress is responsible for making laws. Congress is made up of two houses, the House of Representatives and the Senate. The Senate is sometimes called the upper chamber and the House of Representatives is often called the lower chamber. Together, they are known as the legislative branch of government.

The President

The President does not make laws, but he can influence the making of laws. The President can veto a bill that has been passed by Congress. This means that the President does not approve of the bill and it cannot become a law.

The Courts

In the United States, the power to make laws belongs to Congress, which is made up of the House of Representatives and Senate. But it’s not always that simple. The Constitution gives this power to Congress, but it also gives some power to the president and the courts.

The president can veto a bill, which means it doesn’t become a law. But Congress can override the veto with a two-thirds vote in both the House and Senate.

The Supreme Court can declare a law unconstitutional, which means it cannot be enforced.

State and Local Law

In the United States, laws can come from a variety of levels including state, local and federal. Deciding which level of government creates which laws is not always simple, and there are often overlapping jurisdictions. In general, state and local governments create laws that deal with matters that affect their citizens on a daily basis such as zoning, education, and public safety. Federal laws typically deal with issues that affect the country as a whole such as trade, immigration, and taxes.

The Constitution

The Constitution of the United States is the supreme law of the United States of America. This founding document, originally comprising seven articles, delineates the national frame of government. Its first three articles embody the doctrine of the separation of powers, whereby the federal government is divided into three branches: the legislative, consisting of the bicameral Congress; the executive, consisting of the President; and the judicial, consisting of the Supreme Court and other federal courts. Article IV, Article V and Article VI embody concepts of federalism, describing the rights and responsibilities of state governments, as well as relationships between them and with the federal government. Article VII establishes the procedure subsequently used by states to ratify it. In general, amendments to the Constitution require ratification by three-fourths of states.

The Constitution was adopted on September 17, 1787, by delegates at a Constitutional Convention in Philadelphia that included George Washington, who would become its first president. It went into effect on March 4, 1789—the date set for governmental operations under its provisions—when its first legislature assembled after winning ratification by all thirteen states.


In the United States, laws are made at the federal, state, and local levels. Federalism is a system of government in which power is divided between a central government and smaller units such as states or provinces.

The Constitution divides power between the federal government and the state governments. The federal government has certain powers, such as making money and declare war. State governments have other powers, such as education and transportation.

In 1824, the U.S. Supreme Court said that the states are “sovereign” over their own affairs. However, this does not mean that the states are free to do whatever they want. The Constitution limits the power of both the federal and state governments.

The 10th Amendment to the Constitution says that powers not given to the federal government belong to the states or to the people who live in them. This amendment is often called “the reserved powers amendment” because it reserves powers for the states that are not given to the federal government.

The Bill of Rights

The Bill of Rights is the first ten amendments to the United States Constitution. These amendments guarantee personal freedoms and rights, clear limitations on government power, and reserved powers to the people and the states. The Bill of Rights was introduced by James Madison to the First United States Congress in 1789 as a means to ensure that the Government would not abuse its power.

Separation of Powers

In the United States, the Constitution distributes the power to make laws among three branches of government: the executive, (the President and his Administration) the legislative (the Senate and House of Representatives), and the judicial (the Supreme Court and other courts). This separation of powers prevents any one branch from having too much power. The Founders believed that this would help to prevent tyranny.

Checks and Balances

The Constitution of the United States divides the government into three branches: legislative, executive and judicial. This system of “checks and balances” helps to ensure that no one branch becomes too powerful.

The legislative branch is made up of Congress, which is divided into the House of Representatives and the Senate. The main job of Congress is to make laws.

The executive branch is made up of the President, Vice President and the Cabinet. The main job of the executive branch is to carry out or enforce laws.

The judicial branch is made up of the Supreme Court and other federal courts. The main job of the judicial branch is to interpret laws.

Scroll to Top